Museums? Why not.

by Wadha Al-Jaber

I am the kind of person who likes to constantly try new things, not only to grow as a person, but because I absolutely hate routine.

One of the things I tried to achieve for so many years was to learn Italian( I finally did it!) I took a 6 week elementary Italian course at my university. ( Side note: I am not fluent though! I wish I was)

In addition, I promised myself that when I travel, I will visit more museums. I really like how museums in particular challenge you to think of a story behind each painting and for that reason I fell in love with museums. It’s a quite place filled with artistic thoughts, stories and most importantly: beauty. When I travelled to Pittsburgh to take a summer course, I was thrilled to visit the Carnegie Museum( I felt honored too, as I, myself am a Carnegie Mellon student). The Carnegie museum has two distinctive: The Carnegie Museum of Natural History and The Carnegie Museum of Art.

1- The Carnegie Museum of Natural History

IMG_6978.JPG

IMG_6977.JPG

IMG_6976.JPG

IMG_6975.JPGIMG_6984.JPG

IMG_6980.JPG

IMG_6983.JPG

IMG_6981.JPG

 

2- The Carnegie Museum of Modern Art

This was my favourite section I must admit. The colorful and rich paintings, the decoration and the lighting were making me feel alive! The setting was spectacular.

IMG_6992.JPG

IMG_6991.JPG

IMG_6993.JPG

IMG_6988.JPG

IMG_6987.JPG

IMG_6989.JPG

IMG_6990.JPG

 

3- Andy Warhol Museum

Mr. Warhol has inspired me so much through his paintings. I just love all his work. So when I was in Pittsburgh, I was very excited and thrilled to visit his museum. Taking photos, however, wasn’t allowed during our visit. I was very disappointed but at least I got to witness his great work!

 

The next museums I visited was during our summer vacation in Vienna, Austria. I absolutely fell in love with Vienna, I will share the photos the I took in the city that stole my heart in another post. Vienna is a city filled with beautiful architecture. The buildings were so authentic. I loved it!

Museumsquartier Wien is a huge area that is filled with different museums. The museums are near each other and there are different restaurants in that quarter as well. I visited two museums: MUMOK or the museum of modern art and Leopold Museum.

4- MUMOK

The Museum of Modern Art was absolutely inspiring. I was truly amazed. Wide and vast collections of modern art that will make you inspired for the next three years of your life. (OK, I’m exaggerating or am I?)

IMG_6999.JPG

IMG_7003.JPG

IMG_7007.JPG

IMG_7004.JPG

IMG_7005.JPG

IMG_7006.JPG

IMG_7001.JPG

 

5- Leopold Museum

I don’t know what’s all the fuss about Leopold Museum. I didn’t really like it. I thought MUMOK had greater paintings. Moreover, the receptionist at Leopold Museum was so rude to us. The service is the worst and you have to pay to enter the museum. Don’t get me wrong, money is certainly not an issue, but all I’m trying to deliver is, if you were in a position to choose between MUMOK and Leopold Museum, then choose MUMOK without a hesitation. At MUMOK, the entrance is free if you are 20 or above, and have your student card(no matter where you study at) you will have a discount. The paintings at MUMOK are much nicer and the service is great!

IMG_7008.JPG

IMG_7009.JPG

IMG_7012.JPG

IMG_7010.JPG

IMG_7011.JPG

I want to end this post with something that I read and can’t get it out of my mind.

“Once, Picasso was asked what his paintings meant. He said, “Do you ever know what the birds are singing? You don’t. But you listen to them anyway.” So, sometimes with art, it is important just to look.”
Marina Abramović

