September is the January of Fashion

by Wadha Al-Jaber

So fashion month is over and I was honestly so inspired and amazed by all the artistic pieces I’ve seen on the runway this season. I looked at almost all the collections from New York Fashion Week to Paris Fashion Week, and god that was tiring yet fun! Very enjoyable I must admit.

I was disappointed with big fashion names like Christian Dior, Valentino and Louis Vuitton, their collections did not impress me at all. Other big names, on the contrary, such as Fendi, Carolina Herrara and Oscar de La Renta amazed me!
My favorite collections in no particular order are:

Monique Lhuillier, NYFW

Monique Lhuillier never fails to fascinate me! Her dresses are always so elegant and dreamy. I bet if Disney princesses were real, they would definitely wear one of Monique Lhuillier’s dresses.

monique1

monique Lhuillier

00380h_426x639

00160h_426x639

00020h_426x639

Oscar de La Renta, NYFW

Oscar de La Renta dresses are always on point and everyone from teens to grandmas can gracefully wear one of ODLR dresses.

 

oscaaaaaar

oscaaar

oscar de la renta 1

oscar de la renta

aq_resizerW7D6XXB2

aq_resizerXG4S61SI

aq_resizerF71U2HL2

Carolina Herrera, NYFW

Oh the lovely Carolina Herrera, I just love her class and I truly aspire to look like her when I am in my 70s. Her newest collection was inspired by the East Asian culture and you can witness that from the hair of the models to the outfit they were wearing. Moreover, the dresses looked like oil paintings which blew my mind away. I must admit, Carolina Herrera was my absolute favourite collection during New York Fashion Week.

aq_resizerLVOYP8B8

aq_resizerQFRMRA3T

aq_resizerS2JLAOW7

aq_resizerU7A9PIY2

aq_resizer8H30S6MF

aq_resizer31LGI3N7

aq_resizerF2AICMDY

aq_resizerH691GJDK

aq_resizerJMHO4FB9

aq_resizer0EI6VZ1F

Versace, MFW

I loved the bold colours and the glitter dresses in Versace newest collection. The models looked incredibly attractive on the runway( which is unusual) with their soft slick back hair and natural make-up.

versace dress

versace dress11

versace full pink

versace mini dress

versace taylor

versaceee

versaceeee

versace dress 112

Fendi, MFW

Karl Lagerfeld is a genius and we all know it. Whether Mr. Lagerfeld is designing for Chanel or Fendi his creations always leave me in awe! I liked this collection in particular for so many reasons. I liked the simplicity of the hair, the make-up was edgy yet wearable, the details on the purses and the feather dresses of course. Everything was a complete, utter perfection. Bravo!

download (1)

download (2)

download (3)

download (4)

102f83aa96d0d534a8d060ad64916ccb

backstage

11fendi

download

fendiii

hair

sss

Nina Richie, PFW

Nina Richie designs are always so simple, elegant and classy but never boring! A lot of designers fail to design simple dresses yet interesting ones, and that is one of the reasons why I disliked Christian Dior newest collection. Raf Simons, the creative director of CD designed absolutely boring dresses, they were wearable, but very boring and repetitive. Being in the crazy and highly competitive fashion industry, one doesn’t simply design boring clothes.

download (1)

download (2)

download (3)

download

nina richie

I will end this post with a quote I strongly believe in by Anna Wintour:

Create your own individual style. I’m not interested in the girl who walks into my office in a head-to-toe label look that’s straight off the runway. I’m interested in the girl who puts herself together in an original, independent way.

