Book Review: Outliers; The Story of Success

by Wadha Al-Jaber

“Success is not a random act. It arises out of a predictable and powerful set of circumstances and opportunities.”

Two years ago, a friend of mine recommended me to buy a book by Malcolm Gladwell called Outliers. So I did, but I always managed to postpone reading it thinking a psychology genre book will simply be boring and full of scientific terms that I will not understand (how stereotypical of me lol).

I, however, was blown away by the book, and I honestly have never been so in love with a book this much before. Malcolm Gladwell’s story telling is what I call the “3 E’s”: Entertaining, Enlightening and Educational. Furthermore, I learned so much from Outliers, Gladwell presented the theories and hypothesizes in a straightforward and clear language.

“Practice isn’t the thing you do once you’re good. It’s the thing you do that makes you good.”

Outliers will make you feel good about your self and that success is not only contributed to factors like being a genius, talented and hard worker, but also to factors such as cultural legacies, opportunities and 10,000 hours of practice.

“Ten thousand hours of practice is required to achieve the level of mastery associated with being a world-class expert in anything.”

If I can recommend one book for the rest of my life it would be Outliers. Highly, highly recommended!

