Book Review: Eleanor & Park

by Wadha Al-Jaber

Well, this summer was extremely busy that I did not have the time to read plenty of books. In the past 3 months I had a summer course, followed by an internship, and a family vacation to Europe. I, however, had the time to read Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, which was highly recommended to me a couple of times, but I did not have the time or the enthusiasm to read it, not until this summer.

It has been almost three years since I’ve read a romantic novel, and I thought Eleanor & Park is going to be a cliché book about a cheesy love story between two teenagers, written by a middled age author who does not remember how was it like to be a teenager. Except for the fact that I was dead wrong.

The plot was SO captivating that I finished the book within a span of 5 hours. I don’t usually finish a book written in English within hours, as English is my second language, and I’m slower at reading books written in English than Arabic, but I managed to finish Eleanor & Parks relatively fast, as the storyline was so exciting and eventful that I wanted to know the ending.

READ the book if you want to be reminded how beautiful it is to be in love.

