Travel Diary: Amsterdam, Netherlands

by Wadha Al-Jaber

After The Hague, Amsterdam was our next destination, and I expected Amsterdam to be relatively the same as The Hague, since both cities are near each other, however, I was wrong. (That was the first and the last time I was wrong in my life).

Amsterdam was so beautiful from the small cozy restaurants and cafes next to the canals, the incredibly underrated architecture, and of course the delicious Dutch street stroopwafles.


Still, I faced one problem with Amsterdam, which was the bicycles. Bicycles were everywhere and people who were on bikes had the first priority to cross the street, so you had to be careful not to be hit by one. Even in the park, where bikes are allowed, I couldn’t roam around freely and that was a bit annoying.

Also, as expected, Amsterdam was a very crowded and busy city filled with tourists, so that what mainly differed Amsterdam from The Hague, the busyness.

I visited most of the places I planned to visit, however, I didn’t have the chance to visit Anne Frank’s house, as time wasn’t in my favor.

In the 5 days I spent in Ansterdam I visited Stedelijk museum, Madame Tussauds, Rijksmuseum, and excersiced or shopped (whichever you prefer) in Dam sqauare and P.C. Hooftstraat. 

Stedelijk Museum 

  

  

 

  

  

Rijksmuseum

   

   

